Home Page

Our Lady’s Catholic Primary School

Our Lady’s Catholic Primary School We aspire that through the love of Jesus everyone should ‘have life and have it to the full.’


Our Lady’s Catholic Primary School We aspire that through the love of Jesus everyone should ‘have life and have it to the full.’

Full Governor Details 2020 -2021

Dear Parents/Carers,

Welcome to Our Lady’s RC Primary School. 
I am writing to introduce myself as the Chair of Governors at Our Lady’s.  It is an honour and a privilege to be appointed Chair of Governors at Our Lady’s as I was a pupil here myself and my own 3 children also attended the school.  I have been part of the Governing Body since 1994 when I was elected as a Parent Governor.  In latter years, I was appointed as a Foundation Governor by Cardiff Diocese and have been Vice-Chair for a number of years.
As a part of the Governing Body I share a common objective which is, the wider school community – working in partnership with you as parents and carers and staff to ensure that every child can succeed and reach their full potential.  The Governing Body has 3 specific roles, which are:

  • To be strategic
  • To act as a critical friend in the development of the school
  • To be accountable to the whole school community

We work closely with all the school staff to ensure that your children receive the highest standard of care and education.
We are a ‘voluntary aided school’ which means that in order to enjoy the opportunity of educating our children within a Christian setting we are obliged to pay 10% of any building projects.  By sending your child to Our Lady’s, you accept that you have a responsibility which you cannot leave to others.  Parents and Carers are asked to help the Governors meet these responsibilities with a termly donation of up to £15 which can be paid on ParentPay.
Finally, in order to carry out our role as Governors effectively, we need to know what issues are important to you.  If you have any views to share please let us know – we can be contacted via the school office or by email:
Yours sincerely,
Mark Slane
Chair of Governors


Our Lady's RC Primary School Governors

The Chair of Governors is Mr. Mark Slane.  The Governing Body consists of a further five Foundation Governors; a representative from the teaching and non-teaching staff and two parent governors.

Mr M Slane                                     Chair/Foundation Governor

Mrs C. Thompson                           ViceChair/Foundation Governor
Mrs K. Weston                                Headteacher

Mr A Oliver                                      LA Governor                           

Mrs C. Cutter                                  Foundation Governor


Father Andrew                                Foundation


Dr P Dixon                                      Foundation Governor


Mr S Fox                                         Foundation Governor

Mrs A Perkins                                 Staff Governor 

Mrs. C. Lane                                   Parent Governor


Mr. P. Cichy                                    Parent Governor

The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs. L. Good who can be contacted at the school email address:-

or by phone 01432 274814

or by post at c/o Our lady's R C Primary School, Boycott Road, Hereford HR2 7RN